The association Open Lecture Auditorium seeks to promote equal opportunities and provide support for asylum seekers and refugees.

Per semester up to twenty refugees with an academic background or the desire to take up a course of studies can visit lectures as listeners and can absolve a language course at the university language centre. The association also supports possible students by offering assistance in applying for courses.

What happens if I have to abandon my studies and take flight? Can I continue my studies in Switzerland? Are my diplomas recognised in Switzerland?
People who have fled to Switzerland are often confronted with huge obstacles when they seek to recommence their studies or begin a new course of studies. Previous academic achievements or degrees are not always or only partly recognised in Swiss Universities and Universities of Applied Sciences. Quite often problems arise due to loss of documentation or indeed due to political reasons where the document is no longer available from the land of origin. The financing of study fees, living and transport costs in Switzerland also represent yet another obstacle. In the last instance, the language and communication barriers make studying in Switzerland particularly strenuous.

The association Open Lecture Auditorium is an accredited association through the University of Basel. It was founded by students in 2016 who wished to contribute to the social, professional, and lingual integration and who also hope to support the independent existence of refugees in Switzerland.

The University of Basel claims a strong humanitarian tradition. To the present day a memorial plaque in the Kollegienhaus commemorates the support offered to the Hungarian students who fled during the Hungarian Revolution of 1956. Tradition or otherwise – to show a sign of solidarity and to provide constructive support is for us an indispensable measure. Personal aims in life, such as the realisation of a university education, should be given the required support.

The programme is directed to refugees with an academic background or who pursue an academic career with residency in the region of Basel. An interview will be held beforehand with the interested applicants. Pro semester 20 participants can take part in the project.

The listeners programme of the University of Basel is open to all who are interested. They can take part in 500 regular events in various subjects and courses in German, English and French. The Open Lecture Programme allows participants to visit three courses in the programme. Additionally, there is the possibility to visit a language course at the Universities language centre.

Listeners do not take examinations and as a result there is no academic qualification (ECTS) or certificate acquired at the end of a course /semester.

Visit Website

One of the central aspects of the Open Lecture Auditorium is the project teams Buddy Programme: All participants are allocated one or two Buddies from the same course, who accompany them and assist in mastering the university’s everyday life. The students who volunteer, the so called Buddies, meet with the listeners before the lecture programme begins and also on a regular basis during the semester to discuss academic or organisational questions. The programme hopes to achieve a lively exchange between the volunteers and visitors which might well be consolidated through complimentary events such as cooking together or language tandems.

Read more about participating as a listener or about possible ways to support the project. The association’s existence and indeed survival is guaranteed by your active help as a Buddy, committee member or through your financial support.

Get in touch!

Der Verein Offener Hörsaal setzt sich für eine höhere Chancengleichheit für Asylsuchende und Geflüchtete an der Universität Basel ein.

Pro Semester können bis zu 20 Geflüchtete mit akademischem Hintergrund oder Studieninteresse als Hörer*innen Vorlesungen im Hörer*innenprogramm besuchen und einen Sprachkurs am Sprachenzentrum der Universität absolvieren. Der Verein unterstützt Studienwillige auch bei der Abklärung und Anmeldung zum regulären Studium.

Was passiert, wenn ich mein Studium aufgrund meiner Flucht unterbrechen musste? Kann ich in der Schweiz weiterstudieren? Werden meine Diplome in der Schweiz anerkannt?
Menschen, die in die Schweiz geflüchtet sind, stehen oftmals vor grossen Hürden, wenn sie ihr unterbrochenes Studium fortsetzen oder ein neues Studium beginnen wollen. Bereits erreichte Studienleistungen und Studienabschlüsse werden an Schweizer Universitäten und Fachhochschulen häufig gar nicht oder nur teilweise anerkannt. Manchmal bestehen Schwierigkeiten beim Beschaffen von Dokumenten, da sie verloren gegangen oder im Herkunftsland geblieben sind und aus politischen Gründen nicht herausgegeben werden. Die Finanzierung von Studiengebühren, Lebens- und Transportkosten in der Schweiz stellen ein weiteres Hindernis dar. Nicht zuletzt erschwert auch die sprachliche Hürde ein Studium in der Schweiz.

Der Verein Offener Hörsaal ist ein an der Universität Basel akkreditierter Verein, der 2016 von Student*innen gegründet wurde, um einen Beitrag zur sozialen, beruflichen und sprachlichen Integration und einem selbstbestimmten Leben von geflüchteten Menschen in der Schweiz zu leisten.

Die Universität Basel rühmt sich mit einer bedeutenden humanitären Tradition. Noch heute erinnert eine Gedenktafel im Kollegienhaus an die geleistete Unterstützung der Universität Basel und ihrer Student*innen für die ungarischen Geflüchteten während des Ungarnaufstands 1956. Ob Tradition oder nicht – Solidarität zu zeigen und konkrete unterstützende Massnahmen zu ergreifen, erachten wir als unabdingbar. Individuelle Lebensziele wie ein Studium zu verwirklichen, soll allen Menschen möglich sein.

Das Programm richtet sich an Geflüchtete mit akademischem Hintergrund und akademischem Interesse mit Wohnsitz in der Region Basel. Mit interessierten Teilnehmer*innen wird vorgängig ein Gespräch geführt. Pro Semester können bis zu 20 Interessierte am Projekt teilnehmen.

Das Hörer*innenprogramm der Universität Basel steht allen Interessierten offen und umfasst über 500 reguläre Veranstaltungen verschiedenster Fächer und Studiengänge in Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch. Der Offene Hörsaal ermöglicht die Teilnahme an drei Kursen aus dem Hörer*innenprogramm. Zusätzlich besteht die Möglichkeit, einen Sprachkurs am Sprachenzentrum der Universität zu besuchen.

Hörer*innen können keine Prüfungen absolvieren. Dadurch sind auch keine akademischen Leistungsausweise (ECTS) oder Abschlüsse erwerbbar.

Zum Hörer*innenprogramm der Uni Basel

Ein zentraler Aspekt des Offenen Hörsaals ist das vom Projektteam organisierte Buddy-Programm: Allen Teilnehmenden werden ein bis zwei Buddies des gleichen Studienganges zugeteilt, welche die Teilnehmer*innen im Unialltag begleiten. Freiwillige Studierende, sogenannte Buddys, treffen sich vor Beginn der Vorlesungsphase und regelmässig während des Semesters mit den Teilnehmenden. So können akademische und organisatorische Fragen unkompliziert besprochen werden. Durch das Programm wird ein reger sozialer Austausch gefördert, welcher bei Interesse auch durch ergänzende Veranstaltungen, wie etwa gemeinsame Essen oder Sprachtandems, vertieft werden kann.

Lies mehr über die Teilnahme am Projekt als Hörer*in oder über verschiedene Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten. Durch Deine aktive Mithilfe als Buddy oder Vorstandsmitglied oder durch einen finanziellen Beitrag trägst Du dazu bei, dass der Verein Offener Hörsaal weiterexistieren kann.

Sende uns eine Nachricht!